Add to favorites


Alfred Garriyevich Schnittke

52+12 p.

Collected Works. Critical edition based on the composer's archive materials. Series VI. Chamber Works. Volume 1. Works for Violin and Piano, Solo Violin and Solo Viola. Part 4. Sonata 3 for violin and piano. Piano score and part

170 RUB

The publication of Alfred Schnittke’s Collected Works is a joint project of the Compozitor Publishing House • Saint-Petersburg and the Alfred Schnittke Archive at Goldsmiths College, University of London. This critical edition is intended for performers, scholars and music lovers interested in Schnittke and his music. Its main purpose is to provide them with access to his scores, which are not readily available in Russia or elsewhere. All the scores have been checked against Schnittkes manuscripts and existing publications of his music nd have been edited by leading performers who collaborated with the composer.
Schnittkes late compositions — both chamber and orchestral represent a search for a new style, in which a limited lexicon of musical elements is used with utmost economy. The composer reappraises the nature and meaning of intervals, chords and clusters. He also comes to a new understanding of how diatonic, chromatic and quarter-tone intervallic structures can function as primary resources for musical language and form. The emotional level, always significant in Schnittkes music, is here expressed through the deep meaning afforded to very simple musical ideas as they appear in various incarnations. The composer invites us to watch and to listen as these musical elements are “cleaned” and presented anew through radical decontextualisation.
Schnittke took a great interest in the music and ideas of Josef Matthias Hauer (1883-1959), who devised a twelve-tone technique that pre-dated Schoenbergs and that worked in a different way. Hauers music has a clear, crystalline quality that is also apparent in the musical textures of Schnittkes final works including: Violin Sonata No. 3, Cello Sonata No. 2, Piano Sonata No. 3, Variations for String Quartet, Symphony No. 9 and Concerto No. 2 for viola and orchestra. Schnittke wrote of his first impressions of Hauers music: …I had a feeling that I had encountered in a different way something that is also found in Weberns music. I encountered a sense of calm, organic in nature and based on the musics crystallised and well-balanced structure... there is, of course, something symbolic about this music, it lives on the border between the real and the unreal, the point at which positive and undoubtedly real things... meet those that cannot be implemented in the real world.

Music Text Example